Wednesday, August 10, 2011

SuperMoto X Fest Photo Essay

 The 5th Annual SuperMoto X Fest took place July30-31 in Notre-Dame-de-la-Merci, Quebec. This event was the 2nd round of the Canadian National SuperMoto Series and the 3rd round of the Eastern North American Can-Am Series. The Mecaglisse circuit hosts the event and features a fast, flowing road course and a long, fun dirt section situated in a beautiful valley. X Fest is a 2 day event with practice and qualifying heat races on Saturday and the Finals on Sunday. This is the largest SuperMoto event in eastern North America drawing riders from Ontario, Quebec, Alberta and the Northern United States. The French love their racing and lots of spectators also came out to cheer on the riders.

 Franck Kirchhoff is the man behind X Fest. He and his crew did an awesome job once again

 The grids were nice and full at X Fest. Here the Open Amateur class heads into the first turn

 A large field of Quads were also racing at X Fest. Here Daniel Latour hangs it out on his way to 3rd place in Pro SuperQuad

 Chris Barendregt blasting a berm on his way to take the win in the SM1 Semi Pro class. Chris also finished 2nd in the Vet 35+ class

 Nice close racing resulted in some good battles in the Open Amateur class. Francois Asselin (401) leads Frederic Coeymans (207), Sam Harris (5) and Jerrett Bellamy (67)

 Sunday also featured the Supermoto Bike Drift competition (who could slide into the corner the hardest). Paul Rouillard (18) took the win with some spectacular backin’it in style.  Paul would also place 5th in the Pro class

 Jean Ph. Bégin (57) ran away with the Vet 45+ class and also placed 4th in the Pro class

 Maxime Sylvestre (77) repeated his 2010 result winning the Pro class

 Yves Lagacé (818) rode to a solid 2nd place in the Pro class

 Open Beginner Podium (L-R) George Borrissov, Fréderic Bélanger, Albert Cule

 Open Amateur Podium (L-R): François Asselin, Frederic Coeymans, Sam Harris

 SM2 250 Podium (L-R): Samuel Benoit, Steve Scharfe

 Vet 35+ Podium (L-R): Chris Barendregt, Jean Ph. Bégin, Dominic Beauchesne

 SM1 Semi Pro Podium (L-R): Frederic Coeymans, Chris Barendregt, Jerrett Bellamy

Pro Podium (L-R): Yves Lagacé, Maxime Sylvestre, Michael Martel